Our History

Key Facts

The Commission was created by and performs its operations based on the guidelines as stipulated in the Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005

Member - Executive Council of African Forum for Utility Regulators

Corporate Headquarters
Plot 1387, Cadastral Zone A00,
Behind Bank Of Agriculture HQ 
Central Business District
Abuja F.C.T, Nigeria
Tel: +234-09-462-1400, 09-462-1410.

Our History

Outlined below are the key events and actions that have defined the development of NERC and the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry (NESI) in general.




In March, the Electric Power Sector Reform (EPSR) Act was passed into law and the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission was created.

In October, the Pioneer Commission was inaugurated.


In November, the Commission issued the Customer Complaints Handling: Standards & Procedures Regulation


In April, a Public Notice for Consultation on the proposed Multi-Year Tariff Order (MYTO) Methodology was issued to the public.

In December, the Commission issued the Regulation on Customer Service Standards of Performance for Electricity Distribution Companies


On July 1, the Multi-Year Tariff Order (MYTO 1) issued by the Commission came into effect.

In August, the Commission issued the Grid Code, Distribution Code and Metering Code.


In February, an Administrator was appointed to oversee the affairs of the Commission.


In December, the 2nd Commission was inaugurated.


In march, a Public Notice for consultation on proposed changes to the MYTO Methodology & MYTO 1 was issued to the general public

On June 1, MYTO 2 came into effect.


In July, the Commission issued the Health & Safety Code


On January 1, MYTO 2.1 came into effect.

In April, MYTO 2.1 Amended came into effect

In December, the Commission approved Feed-In-Tariffs for Renewable Energy Generation

Also in December, the tenure of 2nd Commission came to an end and an acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) began overseeing the affairs of the Commission.


In February, MYTO 2015 came into effect

2017           February, the 3rd set of Commissioners were inaugurated