Key Facts

The Commission was created by and performs its operations based on the guidelines as stipulated in the Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005

Member - Executive Council of African Forum for Utility Regulators

Corporate Headquarters
Plot 1387, Cadastral Zone A00,
Behind Bank Of Agriculture HQ 
Central Business District
Abuja F.C.T, Nigeria
Tel: +234-09-462-1400, 09-462-1410.

The Commission was established via an act of the parliament- The Electric Power Sector Reform (EPSR) Act 2005. Section 34 of the Act stipulates the Commission shall consist of seven Commissioners with five years single term tenure renewable for maximum of an additional tenure. The Commissioners were appointed by the President subject to Senate confirmation.

The first Commission was inaugurated in October 2005. The Second Commission was inaugrated December 2010. There were two interregnums between the first and second and the third Commission when interim administrative arrangements were in place.

The present board of Commissioners, which is the third, were inaugurared on February 7, 2017.   They include: -


Engr. Sanusi Garba

Sanusi Garba

Dr. Musiliu Olalekan Oseni

Musiliu Olalekan Oseni

Vice Chairman/ Commissioner, Market Competition & Rates
Prof. Frank Nwoye Okafor

Frank Nwoye Okafor

Commissioner Engineering, Performance and Monitoring
Mrs. Aisha Mahmud

Aisha Mahmud

Commissioner, Consumer Affairs
Nathan Rogers Shatti

Nathan Rogers Shatti

Commissioner, Finance & Management Services

Dr Moses Arigu

Moses Arigu

Commissioner, Planning, Research and Strategy

Dafe C. Akpeneye

Dafe C. Akpeneye

Commissioner, Legal, Licencing and Compliance